Comunidad Valenciana / Comunitat Valenciana

Orientation & Geography

Europe, Spain, Castile-La Mancha

The Valencian Community (Valencian: Comunitat Valenciana [komuniˈtad valensiˈana], known alternatively as País Valencià [paˈiz valensiˈa]) is an autonomous community of Spain located in central and south-eastern Iberian Peninsula. Its capital and largest city is Valencia. The region is divided into three provinces: Alicante, Castellón and Valencia - and thirty four comarques. It has 518 km of Mediterranean coastline and covers 23,259 km² of land with 5.1 million inhabitants (2009). Its borders largely reflect those of the historic Kingdom of Valencia. The current version of the Valencian Statute of Autonomy (2006) declares the Valencian Community a nationality. The official languages are Valencian (as Catalan is known in this territory) and Spanish.