Ankara 19 Mayıs Stadyumu

Orientation & Geography

Asia, Turkey, Ankara

Ankara 19 Mayıs Stadium (Turkish: Ankara 19 Mayıs Stadyumu) is the home venue for three of Ankara's Süper Lig football clubs: Ankaragücü, Gençlerbirliği and Hacettepe. It was built in 1935 and is part of the 19 Mayıs Sports Complex, which is located in the Ulus district. The stadium has a capacity of 19,209 (all-seater). Ankaraspor also used this stadium until they moved to their new venue in the Yenikent district. The stadium is named after the date May 19, 1919, when Mustafa Kemal Atatürk arrived at Samsun to start the Turkish War of Independence. Official ceremonies to celebrate the May 19th Youth and Sports Day are also being held in this stadium.