Torrey Pines High School

College & Education

North America, United States, San Diego County

Torrey Pines High School is a high school in the North County Coastal area of San Diego, California. The school is named after the Torrey Pine tree that grows in the area. Torrey Pines High School is a member of the San Dieguito Union High School District and serves the communities of Rancho Santa Fe, Del Mar, Solana Beach, and Carmel Valley in San Diego county. Before the school opened, students in the district attended San Dieguito High School—now known as San Dieguito Academy. Now students who come from middle schools such as Carmel Valley Middle School, Earl Warren, and Rancho Santa Fe have four public high schools to choose from: Torrey Pines High School, San Dieguito Academy, Canyon Crest Academy, and La Costa Canyon High School. TPHS and LCC are boundary schools—students within the district default to one or the other, depending where they live within the district, although many do choose these schools over the academies for a variety of reasons.