University of California, Davis

College & Education

North America, United States, Yolo County

The University of California, Davis (UC Davis) is a public research university located in Davis, California, and one of ten campuses in the University of California system. Referred to locally as UCD, the school was originally established in 1905 as the University Farm, an extension of UC Berkeley. UC Davis welcomed its first class in 1908. It was later formally established as a UC campus by the Regents of the University of California in 1959. The University celebrated its Centennial during the 2008-2009 academic year. For census purposes, UC Davis constitutes a census-designated place which had a population of 5,786 as of the 2010 United States Census. UC Davis' graduate and professional programs include the UC Davis School of Medicine (which includes the UC Davis Medical Center), the UC Davis School of Law, the UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine, UC Davis School of Education, UC Davis Graduate Studies, The Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing, and the UC Davis Graduate School of Management. The UC Davis Aggies compete in the NCAA Division I level primarily in the Big West Conference as well as Great West Conference, Pacific-10 Conference, and Mountain Pacific Sports Federation in other sports. In its first year of full Division I status, 11 UC Davis teams qualified for NCAA post-season.