Fordham University

College & Education

North America, United States, New York City

Fordham University is a private, nonprofit, coeducational research university in the United States, with three main campuses located in and around New York City. It was founded by the Roman Catholic Diocese of New York in 1841 as St. John's College, placed in the care of the Society of Jesus shortly thereafter, and has since become an independent institution under a lay Board of Trustees, which describes the university as "in the Jesuit tradition." Enrollment at Fordham includes nearly 8,000 undergraduate students and 7,000 graduate students spread over three campuses in New York State: Rose Hill in the Bronx, Lincoln Center in Manhattan, and Westchester in West Harrison. In addition, the university operates two centers abroad, one in the People's Republic of China and one in the United Kingdom. Fordham awards bachelor's (BA, BFA, and BS), master's, and doctoral degrees. Ranked among the top 60 national universities, Fordham is composed of four undergraduate schools and six graduate schools, including the Graduate School of Social Service, the Graduate School of Business, and the School of Law. It also offers a five-year BA/BS engineering program in cooperation with Case Western Reserve University and Columbia University and a BFA program in dance in partnership with the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater. Fordham Preparatory School, a four-year, all-male college preparatory school, was once integrated with the university and shares its founding. Since legally separating from the university in 1972, "Fordham Prep" moved to its own facilities bordering the northwest corner of the Rose Hill campus.