Universidad San Francisco de Quito

College & Education

South America, Ecuador, Cantón Quito

Universidad San Francisco de Quito is an Ecuadorian private non-profit liberal-arts university. Founded in 1988 by the Corporación de Promoción Universitaria (CPU), its umbrella non-profit foundation, USFQ was the first totally private self-financed university in Ecuador. In 2009 it was ranked 1st in Ecuador in relation to the number of peer-reviewed scientific publication, however, it still remains as a low rank university on worldwide rankings. USFQ employs about half of all PhDs in Ecuador. USFQ was officially recognised by the Ministry of Education and Culture of Ecuador on October 1995 and accredited by CONESUP on May 2001. Today, USFQ is arranged into sixteen Colleges of Study and Academic Institutes, spread across three campuses in mainland Ecuador (Cumbayá-Quito, Riobamba, and Tiputini) and one in Insular Ecuador at the Galapagos Islands (GAIAS-The Galapagos Academic Institute for the Arts & Sciences).