Rose Bowl


North America, United States, Los Angeles County

The Rose Bowl (or the Rose Bowl Game presented by Vizio for sponsorship purposes) is an annual American college football bowl game, usually played on January 1 (New Year's Day) at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California. When New Year's Day falls on a Sunday, the game is then played on the following Monday. The Rose Bowl is nicknamed "The Granddaddy of Them All" because it is the oldest bowl game. It was first played in 1902, and continuously since 1916. Since 1945, it has been the highest attended college football bowl game. It is a part of the Tournament of Roses "America's New Year Celebration", which also includes the historic Tournament of Roses Parade. In 2002 and 2006 (2001 and 2005 seasons), the Rose Bowl game was also the BCS National Championship Game. In the current BCS alignment, the Rose Bowl will host the designated Big Ten and Pacific-10 conference representatives unless they are involved in the national championship game. Rose Bowl game representative teams from the Big Ten and Pacific-10 conferences are chosen by the specific rules for each conference. Tiebreaker rules exist when multiple teams tie for the conference championship. Except in the years when the Rose Bowl served as the BCS National Championship Game, the Rose Bowl Game has continued to be played in the afternoon. In 2010, the Tournament of Roses was the host of the Citi BCS National Championship Game between the Alabama Crimson Tide against the Texas Longhorns in a separate game that was held on January 7 with Alabama emerging victorious 37–21. The 96th Rose Bowl Game was held on January 1, 2010, a week before the championship game there in Pasadena; the Rose Bowl was still played a traditional time between the Ohio State University Buckeyes and the University of Oregon Ducks, with the Buckeyes winning 26–17. In the latest Rose Bowl Game, played January 1, 2011, the TCU Horned Frogs defeated the Wisconsin Badgers 21-19.