St Patrick's Cathedral

Architecture & Buildings

Australia, Australia

St Patrick's Cathedral, Parramatta, is the cathedral church of the Catholic diocese of Parramatta and the seat of the Catholic Bishop of Parramatta. It is the most recently completed Cathedral in Australia. Under the incumbency of Bishop Kevin Manning and the then Dean, the Very Reverend Peter Williams, the current building was designed by Romaldo Giurgola and the firm MGT Architects. Giurgola was commissioned in 1997 for the restoration and design of the new Cathedral complex after fire destroyed the previous building. Romaldo Giurgola was previously the architect of the new Australian Parliament House in Canberra. A programme of major art works, craft and special design for the Cathedral was also undertaken at the same time so that the art, architecture and furnishings of the new Cathedral would be in harmony. The commissioned artists included Sydney sculptor Anne Ferguson (who worked in stone), Tasmanian designer Kevin Perkins (who worked in timber), and Sydney sculptor and jewellery designer Robin Blau (who worked in metal). The new Parramatta Cathedral was dedicated on 29 November 2003. The Norman and Beard late Victorian English romantic pipe organ was installed in 2006. This 19th century organ was originally installed in St Saviour's Anglican Church in Knightsbridge, London. A new organ case was designed by Stephen Bicknell in collaboration with Romaldo Giurgola, and the instrument was restored and installed in Parramatta Cathedral by Peter Jewkes and Associates. The current Bishop is the Most Reverend Anthony Fisher OP. The current Dean is the Very Reverend Wim Hoekstra (appointed 2006). The current organist and Choirmaster appointed in 2006 is Bernard Kirkpatrick, B.Mus. and Knight of the Holy Sepulchre.