Ohio State University Airport


North America, United States, Franklin County

Ohio State University Airport (IATA: OSU, ICAO: KOSU, FAA LID: OSU) is a public airport located six miles (10 km) northwest of the central business district of Columbus, a city in Franklin County, Ohio, United States. It is owned and operated by The Ohio State University in Columbus, not to be confused with Ohio University in Athens, which owns the Ohio University Airport (IATA: ATO, ICAO: KUNI, FAA LID: UNI). It is also known as the OSU Don Scott Airport, named after Donald E. Scott, an OSU alumnus who died during his training as a pilot in England during World War II. The Ohio State University Airport (OSU) serves the needs the university's students and faculty, while offering general aviation services for people in central Ohio. The OSU Airport began in 1943 as a flight training facility for military and civilian pilots, operated by the OSU School of Aviation. The OSU Airport now operates as a self-supporting entity of The Ohio State University through the Department of Aerospace Engineering & Aviation. The Department oversees all aspects of the Airport from Airport Management, to Fixed Base Operations, to Airport Maintenance. The OSU Airport is a Part 139 Certificated Airport, serving as a general aviation reliever for the nearby Port Columbus International Airport. The OSU Airport is home to 230 aircraft, including single- and multi-engine, piston, and turbine engine aircraft and rotorcraft. The OSU Airport oversees an estimated 100,000 operations per year, including corporate activity, student training, and pleasure flying. By comparison, the OSU Airport generally ranks in the top five airports in Ohio in the number of take-offs and landings with Cleveland Hopkins, Port Columbus, Dayton, and Cincinnati Lunken. Primary users of the facility include local businesses and residents as well as transient users. The Airport is also home to the OSU Department of Aerospace Engineering & Aviation Gas Turbine Laboratory, several facilities operated by the OSU College of Agriculture, the Ohio Department of Transportations Office of Aviation, fourteen corporate flight departments, and four flying clubs.