Orientation & Geography

Africa, South Africa, Eden District Municipality

Ladismith is town and agricultural centre in the western Kleinkaroo region of South Africa's Western Cape province. In 1852 the farm Elandsvlei was set aside for the town, and it became a municipality in 1862. It was named after Lady Juana Smith. It is situated adjacent to a series of fertile, irrigated valleys, at an altitude of 550m, at the southern base of the Swartberg. It is currently included in the southern Kannaland LM. The nearest towns are Calitzdorp to the east, Vanwyksdorp and Riversdale to the south and Laingsburg to the north.