Orientation & Geography

French Polynesia, Îles Sous-le-Vent

Maupiti is a commune of French Polynesia, an overseas territory of France in the Pacific Ocean. The commune is in the administrative subdivision of the Leeward Islands. The commune of Maupiti is made up of the island of Maupiti proper with its surrounding islets emerging from the coral reef, with an area of 13.5 km² (5.2 sq mi) in total, and of three distant atolls: Maupihaa (aka Mopelia), 2.6 km² (1 sq mi) in land area, located 185 km (115 mi) south-west of Maupiti Manuae (aka Scilly), 3.5 km² (1.4 sq mi) in land area, located 255 km (160 mi) west of Maupiti. This atoll is the westernmost emerged land of French Polynesia. Motu One (aka Bellinghausen), 2.3 km² (0.9 sq mi) in land area, located 250 km (155 mi) north-west of Maupiti. Almost all the inhabitants live on Maupiti island itself. The atolls of Maupihaa and Manuae have about 15 inhabitants each, while Motu One is not inhabited anymore. The administrative centre of the commune is the settlement of Vaiea, on the island of Maupiti.