Stirling High School

College & Education

Europe, United Kingdom, Stirling Council

Stirling High School is a state high school for 11-18 year olds run by Stirling Council in Stirling, Scotland. It is one of seven high schools in the Stirling district, and currently has approximately 972 pupils attending. It is located on Torbrex Farm Road, near Torbrex Village in the suburbs of Stirling, previously being situated on the old volcanic rock where Stirling Castle lies and on Ogilvie Road. The headteacher of the school is Patricia Scullion. The school operates a house system. The three houses are Douglas, Randolph and Stewart (Prior to August 2007, Stewart was a redundant House, with Snowdon instead being in its place), which are both for social and administrative purposes. Each house has a depute headteacher and a principal teacher for support teacher. Each year, two senior students are selected by pupils and teachers to become Head Boy and Head Girl. The school is the 3rd oldest in Scotland. Originally established for the training of ecclesiastics, it began as the seminary of the Church of the Holy Rude, founded in the reign of David I in 1129. Both the church and school, along with those of Perth, were brought under the charge of the monks of the Church of the Holy Trinity of Dunfermline in 1173.