Orientation & Geography

Europe, Netherlands, Zeeland

Oostburg is a town in the south-western Netherlands. It is the largest town in the municipality of Sluis, in the province of Zeeland. As of 1 January 2005, its population is 5,008. It received city rights in 1237. Before 1 January 2003, Oostburg was also the name of a municipality. It merged with Sluis-Aardenburg to form the new municipality of Sluis. The municipality covered an area of 224.93 km², of which 1.05 km² was water. As well as the town of Oostburg, the former municipality also included the following towns, villages and townships: Breskens Cadzand Groede Hoofdplaat IJzendijke Nieuwvliet Schoondijke Waterlandkerkje Zuidzande