Waterloo, Belgium

Orientation & Geography

Europe, Belgium, Walloon Brabant

Waterloo (in Walloon: Waterlô) (Belgian Dutch pronunciation: [ˈwaːtərloː]) is a Walloon municipality located in the province of Walloon Brabant, Belgium. On December 31, 2009, Waterloo had a total population of 29,573. The total area is 21.03 km² which gives a population density of 1,407 inhabitants per km². Nearly one fifth of the current registered population (5,499 inhabitants) are non-Belgian, many of whom work for institutions or companies in Brussels, the capital of the European Union. These numbers were released by the municipality of Waterloo. Bordering Flanders, the town is home to a minority of Dutch-speakers.